Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 25th, 2008

An excerpt from an interview of South Park creators Matt Stone and Trey Parker by Reason Magazine.

Reason: Each of you at various points have called yourself libertarian. Is that an apt description?

Parker: People started throwing that word around to describe us right around the second or third season. They would sit us down and go, “So are you libertarian?” And I would always say, “I don’t know, am I? You’ve seen my stuff.”

I still don’t really know the answer to that question. I think I am, though.

Stone: I think it is an apt description for me personally, and that has probably seeped into the show. But we never set out to do a libertarian show.

Reason: When you say libertarian, what do you mean?

Stone: I had Birkenstocks in high school. I was that guy. And I was sure that those people on the other side of the political spectrum were trying to control my life. And then I went to Boulder and got rid of my Birkenstocks immediately, because everyone else had them and I realized that these people over here want to control my life too. I guess that defines my political philosophy. If anybody’s telling me what I should do, then you’ve got to really convince me that it’s worth doing.

Click here for the full interview. 

Read Full Post »

Reason has hauled in 16 nominations for the annual Greater Southern California Press Club Awards. They dominated the magazine category, earning 10 of the 20 finalist spots. 

For those who are unaware, Reason is a monthly libertarian magazine, probably the best libertarian magazine that exists.

Read Full Post »