Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 10th, 2008

Not a walk I’d recommend to the faint of heart.

(Link via Andrew Sullivan)

Read Full Post »

The goal of Paulville.org it to establish gated communities containing 100% Ron Paul supporters and/ or people that live by the ideals of freedom and liberty.

Link.

I am curious — will a Paulville resident have the freedom, for instance, to question the ideals of freedom and liberty? What if a resident has a change of heart after he is admitted to Paulville and decides he no longer believes in those truths. Will he be allowed to stay on?

Of course, any community that encourages libertarianism to flourish is a good idea. I just hope they do it the right way.

Read Full Post »

In that the addictions produced by both are similar.

I can see the health police salivating at the prospect of using this as a reason to regulate or ban junk food (though to me, it looks like yet another argument for drug legalization).

However, as the author of the linked article says:

Because if we really do crave junk food the way addicts crave drugs, good luck prying those cheeseburgers from our hands.

I am not so sure. The capacity of some people to enforce their standards of correctness on others never ceases to amaze me.

(Link via Andrew Sullivan)

Read Full Post »